Beef Rib

Beef Rib Common Cuts and Other Names

Boneless Rib Eye Steak  regular or thick-cut

Steak, Spencer Steak, Market Steak, Entrecôte

Boneless Rib Eye Roast

Rib Steak Large End  regular, thin-cut  or thick-cut

Rib Roast Large End

Rib Roast,
Standing Rib Roast

Rib Steak Small End regular, thin-cut  or thick-cut, may be called
“Club” steak

Boneless Cubed Steak

Beef Short Ribs boneless or bone-in

Beef Back Ribs

Boneless Stew-meat  regular and extra lean

Ground Beef regular (30% fat or less)-lean (22% fat or less)-extra-lean (15% fat or

Smiths-TRI-6-Arkansas Sharpening Stones


The beef carcass has 13 pairs of ribs, but not all of the ribs are included in the rib primal cut. The first 5 ribs are part of the chuck cut in the front of the animal.
The 13th rib is part of the loin.

The rib primal contains ribs 6 through 12. Beef from the rib primal is often described as “middle meat” (as is beef from the loin).

The cuts obtained from the rib primal are very tender and contain many of the best steaks and roasts.
Rib roasts are generally taken from the area of the 9th through the 12th rib.

A short rib refers to a small piece that has been trimmed of the main portion of a rib when the rib section is trimmed into smaller cuts.
Dry heat cooking methods, such as grilling, broiling, and roasting, bring out the flavor of rib cuts and keep the meat tender.

Retail Cuts


Back Ribs

Back ribs are the portion remaining after a rib roast is boned. Sometimes the ends of the ribs are cut from the full rib and are called short ribs. The ends of the 6th through the 12th ribs are actually located in the plate primal cut.

Rib-Eye Roast

The rib-eye roast refers to a rib roast that has had the 6th through the 12th rib bones removed leaving just the rib-eye muscle. It is tender, flavorful, and expensive. The rib-eye roast is also known as a Delmonico roast.

Rib-Eye Steak

A rib-eye steak is cut from the rib-eye roast. Other names for the rib-eye steak include:

  • Delmonico Steak

  • Beauty Steak

  • Market Steak

  • Spencer Steak

  • Entrecôte (The French name for a rib-eye or rib steak cut from ribs 9 to 11.)

Rib Roast

A rib roast is the same as a rib-eye roast except that the bones have not been removed.
A full seven bone rib roast (ribs 6 through 12) usually weighs 16 pounds and up, so it is often cut into two sections known as the first cut rib roast and the second cut rib roast.

The first cut is also called a small end rib roast and includes ribs 9 or 10 through 12, which is nearer the loin primal.
The second cut, also known as the large end rib roast, includes
ribs 6 through 8 or 9 and is nearer the chuck primal. A rib roast that includes the bones is also known as a standing rib roast. If the rib roast is boned, rolled, and tied, it is known as a rolled rib roast.

Rib Steak

A rib steak is cut from the rib roast. It is the same steak as the rib-eye, except that it contains the bone.

Smiths-TRI-6-Arkansas Sharpening Stones